Thirty years of working with people who experience the full depth and breadth of disabilities has given us the desire to share our knowledge and skills with other professionals. We offer a range of training courses for play practitioners and any individuals or organisations interested in learning more about disability. 

At The Yard Edinburgh, in partnership with Tailor Ed, we offer a programme of specialist training courses covering understanding autism and behavioural challenges, disability awareness, communication methods and inclusive play.

Our unique environment and available resources offer participants a great opportunity to gain hands-on experience of developing and demonstrating inclusive play opportunities that carry the stamp of The Yard's very special ethos and approach.

To book your place on a training course, email us or call 0131 476 4506.

Our courses run at The Yard Edinburgh on Thursdays at 9.30am to 12.15pm, except Signalong, which runs from 9am to 12 noon.

Each course costs £35 per person, except Signalong which costs £45 pp, and is open to everyone. Parents of The Yard members receive a 20% discount on any course. Places are payable in advance to secure your booking. Learn more about what we cover on our courses.

2019 course dates

Date Course
Thursday 29th August Understanding Behavioural Challenges I
Thursday 5th September Understanding Behavioural Challenges II
Thursday 12th September Inclusive Play
Thursday 26th September Signalong follow-on
Thursday 3rd October Disability Awareness
Thursday 10th October Introduction to Signalong
Thursday 24th October Aiding Better Communication
Thursday 31st October Understanding Behavioural Challenges I
Thursday 7th November Understanding Behavioural Challenges II
Thursday 14th November Inclusive Play
Thursday 28th November Signalong follow-on
Thursday 5th December Disability Awareness