The Yard is a purpose
built indoor and outdoor adventure playground in Edinburgh for children and young people with disabilities.

We provide care, support, fun and friendship in equal measure while promoting challenge and personal growth in an environment which values independence and celebrates the capabilities and achievements of each individual child.

Watch our video

What's on

Full timetable

Christmas Opening Hours

We will be open to families during
the holidays on:
Fri 19 Dec 1pm to 4pm
Sat 20 Dec Christmas Party 11am to 1pm or 
1.45pm to 3.45pm
Mon 22 Dec 10am to 2.45pm (3-8s club early close)
Tues 23 Dec 10am to 4pm
Wed 24 Dec 10am to 12pm (early close)
CLOSED Thurs 25, Fri 26, Sat 27, Sun 28
Mon 29 Dec 10am to 2.45pm (3-8s club early close) 
Tues 30 Dec 10am to 4pm (*no girls club)
Wed 31 Dec 10am to 3pm
CLOSED Thurs 1 Jan, Fri 2 Jan
Sat 3 Jan 10am to 4pm
Mon 5 Jan 10am to 2.45pm (3-8s club early close)

All clubs will run as normal except
on days when we are closed.

 

Regular open play sessions

Fridays 13.00 - 16.00 (term time only)
Every Friday fifteen minute one to one
parent feedback sessions are available
with a senior member of the Play Team
between 2.30 and 3.30pm.
Book at reception.
Saturdays 10.00 - 16.00 (year round) 

Parent Forum Meetings

The date of the next forum meeting has 
changed to Sat 10 Jan from 10am to 11am 

Follow on Facebook
The Yard Edinburgh Parents Forum

Free Complementary Therapy Service

Our new timetable is online.
Jen is next here on Friday 19 Dec
during the family session. 
To book email jenwoodtherapies@gmail.com

Events & notices

View all

Christmas Family Sessions

In the lead up to Christmas, just to add to the general excitement we will be theming each of our family sessions so...

Friday 19 December - Christmas in the Kitchen
Come and help us make festive treats and pies for the party.

Saturday 20 December - Christmas Party
11am to 1pm, 1.45pm to 3.45pm
Santa is on his way!
Come and join us, dressing up is optional but we'd love to see more elves and angels through out doors. Please email annette@theyardscotland.org.uk as soon as possible or call us on 0131 476 4506 to let us know which party you will be coming along to and the names and ages of your children and their siblings.

Monday 22 December - Wrap up Warm!
It's time to give your favourite Christmas jumpers or onesies an outing - prizes for the best dressed.

Tuesday 23 December - Christmas Crack a Joke Day
Apparently it's the way you tell them, so see if you can make our play team smile. We will also be doing face painting.

Wednesday 24 December Christmas Karaoke
Spend the morning with us blasting out your favourite Christmas tunes 

Have a fantastic holiday!

Parents Forum

The forum will next meet on Wednesday 7 January at 4.45pm at The Yard. All welcome.

Click here for more details

How to find us

The Yard
22 Eyre Place Lane
Edinburgh EH3 5EH

Opening times
We are open to families
with children with
disabilities on a
drop-in basis Friday
afternoons 1pm-4pm 
during term-time
and 10am-4pm 
on Saturdays year
round. We are open
6 days 10am-4pm
in school holidays.  

Contact us
twitter logo
Facebook link
Email us
0131 476 4506 

Get here by bus
The number 8, 27
and 36 stop nearby

Directions
small map
Click here for more
detailed directions 

Success stories

"People play
together more.
There's more
happiness."

About us

Our story
including
the team
behind
The Yard 

Explore prev next

Click through images of our play facility

slide2.jpg
slide4.jpg
slide7.jpg
slide9.jpg
slide11.jpg
Soft Play
Main Hall
slide5.jpg
slide8.jpg